Handmade Holiday Blog Hop

Welcome to the Handmade Holiday Blog Hop.  If you didn’t get here from Shanon’s Blog, pop over to Amanda’s to get started.

Today’s adventure is creating fun stuff from your stash for the Holidays!  My project was actually something that I had to do last minute stocking for my Brother-In-Law.  Now, I forget why exactly my sister (who is an AMAZING seamstress, in fact… she has a degree in Fashion and a degree in Costume Design) didn’t have one for him (it wasn’t their 1st Christmas together… by about 7 years!) but she didn’t.  So it was getting on towards Christmas Day, and they had a new baby and it was just chaos.  So I looked around to try and come up with a quick and easy, but still cute, stocking for him.  I saw her stash of ribbon and thought, Pin Weaving!  Easy peasy!

Pin weaving is where you weave strips of fabric (or ribbon or paper….) in a basket weave.  Why is it called pin weaving?  Because you use a LOT of pins to secure the strips whilst you create your decor.  You need two pins/ribbon, in fact.  One at each end.

I started with a cutout of the stocking.  I free handed the shape, but you can find a load of free patterns online.  I chose felt because it’s easy to work with, but any fabric will do.  Felt doesn’t pull out of shape, doesn’t fray, doesn’t cause headaches!  It’s great for crafting.

Felt base for stockings.

I sewed my stockings, but if you are not comfortable with the sewing machine, you can use iron-on glue like Pellon or Thermoweb.  I hate the stuff, but it does make things easier.  Don’t forget, if you’re going to use it, you have to do so AT THIS POINT.  And, you absolutely need to use an ironing cloth to keep your iron from getting glue on it.

Once you’ve got your shape, you start lining up your ribbons.  This can take a LONG time, because you have to make sure they don’t shift.  Even with pins, it’s annoying.  But, it’s seriously worth it in the end.  Here are some in progress shots.

Horisontal Ribbons

Adding the virtical ribbons weaving them through the horizontal ones.

Once you've finished, you need to push and prod the ribbons til they're straight and you're happy with them.

Once you’re happy with the look of your ribbon weaving, you’ll need to be sure that you’ve securely pinned each ribbon to the felt backing.  Once you’ve done that, you have two options.  If you’re not comfortable with sewing, you can use the iron on fabric glue we talked about up above.  If you are comfortable with a sewing machine, you can easily sew the ribbons to the felt.  Here’s what mine look like from the back (which is the direction you have to sew from.)

Ribbon stitched to the backing.

Once you’ve stitched the ribbon (or ironed it on), be sure to trim the excess.

Ribbons trimmed.

If you’re going to add a cuff, do so at this point.  I’m using a wide felt ribbon, but you could use a block of felt or a wide ribbon.

Add the cuff.

And finally, sew the two halves together.  Once you’ve finished, stitching you’ll need to trim the edges of the stitching.  If you’re using felt, you can trim it a lot closer than if you’re using a fabric that will fray.  If you use something that frays, you’ll need to bind the edge after you trim it.

Here are my two finished stockings!

Ta da!

Now, as usual, I’ve got an RAK on offer!  I’m giving away one of these lovely stockings.  If you’d like to win, here are your options:

  1. Leave a comment on this post by 11.59 pm on 3 December.
  2. Post a link from your blog to mine, leaving me a comment telling me.
  3. Become a follower of my blog, leaving me a note telling me.

I’ll draw a winner on 4 December, so don’t forget to check back here to find out who the winner is.

Now… on to the next blog!  The lovely Cassie has some fun stuff in store!

In case you get lost, here’s the whole list of blogs.

  1. Aman*DUH*
  2. Becky
  3. Jennifer D
  4. Shanon
  5. Adele (That’s Me!)
  6. Cassie (This is next!)
  7. Ashley
  8. Laura M
  9. Heather
  10. Melissa
  11. Amanda J
  12. Mandi
  13. Briana
  14. Heidi 
  15. Stacia

23 thoughts on “Handmade Holiday Blog Hop

  1. Becky says:

    Oh my gosh, you crazy lady!! That weaving and keeping everything straight and tight, that’s too much work for me, LOL. But fabulous stocking!!! I made stockings for my family a couple years ago. Happy to be done with that!

    • dleebug says:

      LOL! Bec, you crack me up. It really wasn’t difficult at all. These ones are small enough that they only took 10 minutes to make. The big one for my BiL last year, that took like, 45. But it’s not hard!

  2. Shanon says:

    Really, really cute! No need to put my name in the drawing, I just wanted to let you know how much I loved your project!

  3. They look awesome! I’m definitely going to try this, thanks for the instructions 🙂

  4. Stacialyn says:

    I think I might need to try this! They are really pretty!!

  5. Wow, those stockings rock!!! I am already a follower 🙂

  6. Laura Mooney says:

    Wow! Those are fantastic! Looks hard to me 🙂 And I not only follow you, I stalk you 😉

  7. Ashley Horton says:

    Oh My Goodness Adele!!! Those are completely adorable!! Totally cute idea!

  8. Jennifer D says:

    Super cute! Great way to use up my jar of ribbons 🙂

  9. Carole says:

    Those are really cute

  10. Steffanie S says:

    That’s a lot of weaving! They look fabulous!

  11. Cassie says:

    Very cute stocking! That sure is a lot of work to weave all those ribbons together!

  12. GLOANN says:

    OMG, how long did it take you to weave that ribbon? They are simply beautiful. Seems your talent and skills with sewing are beginning to surface.

  13. Dottie McKelvy says:

    That stocking looks like it would take a lot of time…..and patience! I love it!
    I don’t have a blog to link to yours…sorry. I am enjoying my first blog hop, though.

  14. Cynthia D says:

    Those are stunning! And they look so hard (but I believe you when you say they aren’t).

  15. Adele, what a cute idea, and not a mustache in sight (inside joke :-)). I’d love to win one, as they look incredibly hard to do.

  16. yolanda804 says:

    Wow – that looks like a lot of work! Looks totally worth it though, they are adorable. 🙂

  17. Becky says:

    Love the stockings! No time to do them this year, but they will go on my “to do” list for next year.

  18. I have linked your blog up on mine and I’m already a follower 🙂 Hope you are having a fun weekend!

  19. Kelly Ryan says:

    wow! love this project! thanks for the hop!

  20. charlene says:

    these are gorgeous!!

Leave a comment