Angels of Yellowstone

There’s an awesome, gorgeous new Challenge Blog that kicked off this month!  You should totally go check it out.  It’s called Words & Paintery.  The idea is a word and a colour pallet.  You get to use them for whatever you want – art journal, LO, altered object, whatever… I decided to play along this month.

Angels of Yellowstone

Angels of Yellowstone

I got some new stencils this week.  Boy did I have fun playing with one of them.  There are 4 layers of fun going on here.

The base layer is a Heidi Swap stencil I used with one of my favourite techniques.  It’s a simple thing.  Use a water based ink directly on your stencil, spritz it with water, then lay it on your paper, and immediately soak up any extra water that tries to leak out with a paper towel.  I first learned this technique off Tim Holtz, but… naturally I couldn’t find it when I went to grab the link.  But, I did find this, which is essentially the same thing.  I have used two colours here, Salty Ocean and Peacock Feathers Distress inks.

The second layer was using one of my new stencils, Specimen by Crafters Workshop.  This thing is just so much fun.  I did a layer of distress paint (Salty Ocean and Broken China) through part of it, where I knew I was going to put my wings.  I just wanted a sort of… bullseye shape for the wings to lay on.

The third layer was also using the Specimen stencil, but instead of paint or ink, I used pen and traced pieces of the stencil on various parts of the background.

The final layer was using a wing stencil I found in the wall stencil area of Michael’s.  I don’t know who makes it, sorry.  I used Golden’s Modeling Paste through the wing stencil, then sprinkled Stampendous Silver Crushed Glass Glitter over the top of the paste.  The paste acts like an adhesive.

Once everything dried, I put my photos on, then arranged the gears and wing in clusters.  The gears are mostly from the jewellery aisle in Michel’s, where I can get a bunch of lighter weight gears for cheaper than the ones you can find in the scrapping supplies.  It’s a fun aisle to peruse, and I highly recommend having a look.  I added a couple of nicer gears (some from Tim Holtz, some from 7 Gypsies), and the wing (also from the jewellery aisle), and the brad securing the wing.  The alpha is by Basic Grey, but it’s pretty old, so I don’t know if it’s still available.

The journaling reads:
I was standing, waiting for Old Faithful to go off when I had a Calvin moment.  Just like when Calvin realised his summer sky was missing a bit of red (his kite), I realised the snow bank was missing a snow angel.

Yellowstone 26 December 2008

Happy scrapping, everyone.  And I do hope you get a chance to play along with the new challenge blog.

6 thoughts on “Angels of Yellowstone

  1. misonmarie says:

    Gorgeous work! Thank you for playing with us at Words & Paintery!

  2. Beautiful project!
    Thank You for joining is at Words & Paintery 🙂

  3. Amazing Lo. Thanks for playing with us at Words&Paintery

  4. Oh wows just love your background! Thanks for playing with us at Words & Paintery

  5. Anna Ekman says:

    Beautiful! Thanks for playing with us at W&P.

  6. ebonyvds says:

    Amazing! thanks for playing along

Leave a Reply

