November Inspired By

Hey everyone, hope your November is warm and cozy and you’re looking forward to the Holidays!

I’m sure you all saw the inspiration photo on the Blog.  Just in case, here it is again:

November Inspired By Photo

I got inspired by the ship, itself.  Here’s my LO of the HMS Gannet a lovely ship at the Chatham Historic Dockyards.  If you’re ever down that way (SE England), it’s totally worth a visit!

Inspired By November DT

Inspired By November DT

To make the gears, I used a heavy gel medium and a stencil.  Once the gel had dried (my oven and I are very good friends.  LOVE the “warm” setting.  Dries the paints, gels and pastes without bubbling them.) I used a TH Disstress Ink (Walnut Stain) to distress the gears.  The gel acted as a resist medium and let the paper show through, though it did discolour a bit.  I could probably have cleaned it off with a damp rag, but I quite liked the look.  The next step was using embossing paste (Studio 490) and the brick stencil.  I knew that the distress ink would bleed up through the paste, which worked awesome to distress the brick.  That’s it.  That’s all I did to the background.  A little washi, a tied knot (love that knot.  Super easy, super effective.  I’ve used it before.) and done.  Seriously, this LO took me… half an hour?  And mostly that was waiting for the wet mediums to dry.

Don’t forget to link your LO to our blog, and be sure to let us know what inspired you!

Leave a Reply

