Little Boys are Made Of

Snips and Snails and Puppy Dog Tails Curiosity.  That’s what Little Boys are Made Of!

It’s another fabulous challenge from Child’s Play today!  Curious George is our inspiration pint today. I saw these photos of my nephew from this spring and knew curiosity was totally the perfect theme for them!  So I combined that with the age-old nursery rhyme about little boys, and boom… the page was born.

Child's Play Challenge - Curious George - DT

Child’s Play Challenge – Curious George – DT

I did a lot of play with this background.  I used watercolour paper, then gel medium through one of my favourite stencils.  Let it dry.  Ground up some blue geloto and dissolved it into a tiny bit of water (grinding it up helps it dissolve smoothly) and just splashed it onto my page.  Let it run wherever it wanted.  After that dried, I took some spray inks and splattered with several colours.  And finally, I took a chevron stencil and embossing paste (Studio 490) and slapped (pretty literally.  I was going for messy, not tidy) it down in the middle.  The lightbulb is a TH stamp that I then fussy cut and coloured with spray ink.  Edged the page with a BoBunny chicken wire stamp…. and done!  Another fast LO, except for waiting for the mediums to dry.  (I usually speed that up with the warm setting on my oven.  I love that thing.)

Have fun!  And don’t forget to link your LO to our blog page, and let us know what inspired you!

Leave a Reply

