October Inspired By

Good morning!  It’s hard to believe how fast 2013 has gone!

Recently, I was in Germany.  I saw this gorgeous wall covered in ivy that was just starting to change as the weather cooled.  I thought it was the perfect photo to use with this month’s Inspiration photo.

October Inspired By Photo

Autumn colours and the vines growing over the 2 structures.  (I think it’s Kudzu on the barn.)

Here’s my LO:

October Inspired By LO

October Inspired By LO

I had SO much fun with this LO.  I really did.  I got to play with all sorts of my favourite toys, and one new toy!

I recently discovered Gelatos by Faber-Castell.  Oh.  My.  Goodness.  LOVE them! This is my first attempt at them, and I learned a TON about using them.  There’s definitely a learning curve, but you’ll totally enjoy the process.  If you pop on YouTube, you’ll have a bunch of choices on tutorials.

So, what I did:

  1. I used a Crafters Workshop template and modeling paste.  I LOVE this template.  I originally wasn’t entirely convinced I would, because the bricks are kind of big.  I have the 6×6 version as well, and I thought that I might have preferred the brick size of the 6×6 on a 12×12 format.  Well…. I’ve changed my mind.  I’m loving the larger brick size.  It’s perfect.  And, I’m loving that I didn’t get the paste completely smooth.  That makes it look even more like real brick.
  2. Let it dry.  I stick mine in the oven on warm.  Or sometimes just stick it in the oven.  Nice safe place that won’t get bumped!
  3. To get the brick colour, I used 3 different Distress Ink colours.  I let the paste dry, then put the mask back over and used my distressing sponges to colour.
    1. Pumice Stone all over.
    2. Fired Brick: light and in spots.
    3. Vintage Photo: just to tone down the “red” of the fired brick.
  4. The Gelatos.  I used 4 different colours: Red, Orange, Yellow and Green.  I ground each one into a soft paste in a bowl (only a TINY bit) and dissolved it into water.  I kept the pigment saturation high for this, so that they would be bright on the page.  Then, I poured each colour out of the bowl onto the LO.  I was careful to splash it around a bunch.  And then I tipped it up on the edge and let the colours run down the page (over my splatter mat!)  A word of warning: Because Distress Inks are water based, this technique will wash off some of those colours.  That didn’t bother me, but it might you.  It also muddies the colours a bit.  Just a friendly warning!
  5. Let it dry.
  6. Once everything’s nice and dry, I mixed up some more paste with some blue laytex paint (I have a sample jar of this particular blue.)  Put a new mask down (Prima, this time) and masked over the top of the bricks with the (now) blue paste.
  7. Let it dry.
  8. The street light/sign is a Kaiser Kraft wood veneer.  I used Distress Paint (can I just say how much I LOVE those things?!?) to colour them black.
  9. The leaves… the yellow ones are straight from the package (a very old package.  No idea what brand.  Sorry.) but the red one was turquoise.  Totally the wrong colour for me.  So I flipped it over, and used the red Gelato as a crayon and coloured the chipboard red.  Works awesome.
  10. That’s pretty much it.  Assemble as usual.

OK, have fun!  And don’t forget to link your creation to the original post over on Inspired By!  Be sure to include a description of what inspired you!

3 thoughts on “October Inspired By

  1. Adele, this is my favorite LO of yours–and that’s hard to do, as I love all your LOs. But this one is so artistic–I love it! You are so talented!

  2. ScrapJAG says:

    Love that photo, and what you did with it!

Leave a Reply

