Inspired By’s First Fabulous Fall Blog Hop

Hello!  And welcome to Inspired By’s First Fabulous Fall Blog Hop!  You should have arrived here from Melissa’s Blog.  If you haven’t, please pop over to the Inspired By Blog to kick start your journey.

As you (should) by now know, the DT for Inspired By was given this sketch:

October Blog Hop Sketch

October Blog Hop Sketch

And this is the “other” inspiration:

October Blog Hop Inspiration

October Blog Hop Inspiration

And, as you should ALSO know by now, I’m a MASSIVE Whovian.  (Massive as in obsessive, not large in stature.)  For Halloween last year, I made a start on an Epic Weeping Angel Costume.  I’m working on upgrading the wings this year.  But anyway, I used those photos for my LO:

Don't Blink: Inspired By Blog Hop

Don’t Blink: Inspired By Blog Hop

I learned a new trick on this LO: Modeling Paste works great with embossing powder!  I thought it might, so when I spread the paste through the Heidi Swapp stencil I then dumped Stampendous’ Shabby Silver (love those shabby enamels!) to see what would happen. It stuck. I actually ended up using this technique twice on this project. I heated it both whilst the paste was still wet, and once it had dried. Both worked fine. I found that heating from the back was infinitely superior to heating from the front. It does, however, use a lot of powder very quickly. But totally worth it.

I know, you’re saying, “But Adele, you said you used “those photos” plural. There’s only one photo on here.”

Well, maybe there is only one photo… But this is a Weeping Angel we’re talking about. And as any good Whovian knows, “the image of an Angel becomes an Angel.”

Blink and You're Dead

Blink and You’re Dead

“Don’t blink. Blink and you’re dead. They are fast. Faster than you can believe. Don’t turn your back. Don’t look away. And don’t blink. Good Luck.”

If you get lost, here’s the complete list of participants:

16 thoughts on “Inspired By’s First Fabulous Fall Blog Hop

  1. Devra says:

    I remember those photos. The drips are fantastic!

  2. Wowza!! Beautiful page Adele! Thanks for the inspiration! I Love using modelling paste with embossing powder! Awesome!

  3. Chelsea says:

    The drips are awesome! Great Halloween page!

  4. What a fun interactive elements to your scary page! Fabulous job!

  5. andrea (Ladyofthelake) says:

    Love, love these layouts! And Doctor Who, or course.

  6. I love all the fantastic texture on your page!!

  7. Lyne B. says:

    Okay – I have to ask…what is a Whovian?

    • dleebug says:

      Whovian: Fan of the BBC show Doctor Who.
      Yes, it’s a “real” word. It’s in the Oxford English Dictionary. Doesn’t get much realer than that.

  8. Steffanie S says:

    Such a fantastic layout, Adele—and so YOU! I love everything about it!

  9. Laura Mooney says:

    *blink*……*poof*

  10. As always……….your Los are fabulous!!! The ideas you have are incredible!!! I love how you did the photo treatment and the drips……….oh my!!!
    BTW, this blog is fabulous!!!!

  11. I remember these photos–they are so you! You make a fantastic weeping angel. And I love the techniques you used. Gonna have to try the embossing powder over the modeling paste.

  12. Rita says:

    beautiful LO!!!!
    I love this tecnique!

Leave a Reply

