Independence Day Blog Hop

Hello!  And welcome to my stop along the Independence Day Blog Hop!  You should have arrived here from Amanda’s Blog.  She’s the 1st stop, so if you didn’t get here from there, go start at the beginning, and we’ll see you back here in just a minute.  You back?  Great.  Let’s get started!

As many of you know, I’ve lived in many locations around the world.  4 Countries.  3 Continents.  2 Hemispheres.  I LOOOOVED it.  It was an absolute ball.  I’m an adventure junky.  I freely admit it.  I haven’t been in the United States for a 4th of July since 1999.  Yes, that’s right.  It’s been 12 YEARS since the last Independence Day I celebrated in the US.  I tried really hard the last two years… but it wasn’t to be.  The funny thing is… in 2011 I was actually living in the US and still didn’t manage to be here!  I frequently got asked if I lived abroad because I didn’t like the US.  Ummm… no.  I lived abroad because I had some awesome opportunities!

Anyway… 2012 is THE YEAR.  I’m actually in the US this year!  I know.  I can’t believe it, either.  When I lived in England, I used to invite all my British friends to “Come celebrate the day we kicked you out of our country.”  One of my more hilarious British friends would always reply, “I’d love to come celebrate the day we got rid of you!”  To which I’d always reply, “Right… so that’s why you fought not one, but TWO wars to keep us, right?”

Something that I learned from living abroad was, America really is an awesome place.  The longer I lived abroad, the more I appreciated being an American.  Which isn’t to say I disliked where I was living.  But it did create a deep appreciation for my home country.  In that vein, here’s my Independence Day LO:

God Bless the USA

Now, on to the exciting part.  I’m offering a prize!  If you want 1 chance at winning, leave a comment here.  Want 2 chances?  Become a follower (or tell me you already are!)  Want 3 chances?  Post a link to my blog from yours (or post on Pinterest or FB… etc) and let me know.  I’ll pull a winner on 8 July, so be sure to leave your comments by 11.59 pm Mountain Time 7 July.

Now, on to the next stop on the Hop:  Megan!

21 thoughts on “Independence Day Blog Hop

  1. Vee says:

    So glad to have you back home!!!! muah!

  2. GLOANN says:

    Hope you’ll have a wonderful Fourth since it will be your first Fourth celebration here in the good old USA. Neat LO

  3. Judy Farroh says:

    Adele, I have been a follower of your bog for a long time. I’m happy for you that you are able to be here, in America, to celebrate the 4th of July!!! 🙂

  4. Skeeter says:

    How fun to actually be home for the 4th after so many years away! I love your project and the fact that no pictures were needed to tell the story!! We don’t always need a pic to document memories! The journaling says it all! ~Bev~

  5. Skeeter says:

    I’m also a follower! ~Bev~

  6. Lovely LO! Have a happy 4th!

  7. Carole B. says:

    I am glad that you are actually in the US this year to celebrate the 4th of July

  8. Connie says:

    Love your layout! The colors and patterns are beautiful.

  9. Colleen says:

    Glad you’ll be able to celebrate in the US this year! And I’m following you now.

  10. How exciting to be able to travel & live in different countries.Very neat LO for this holiday.

  11. Carolyn Ewy (csescrap13) says:

    A very creative layout without photos, love it! So glad that you are in the US this year to celebrate the 4th with your family!!

  12. DanaMK says:

    Very nice!! I love the font you used for your title!

  13. Mandi says:

    I sure you are going to enjoy the 4th in your new place.

  14. Mandi says:

    I am also a follower.
    I love your page.

  15. It’s always a valuable lesson to learn, that there’s no place like home!
    Great LO and hope you have a great day on the 4th to make up for all the ones you have missed. 🙂

  16. Stacy says:

    Great LO! It’s nice to meet someone else who likes to travel. That’s why I scrapbook b/c I have to get all my travel pics into albums.

  17. Megan D says:

    Very Cute Adele! I hope you enjoy your first holiday back in the states!

  18. just jess says:

    enjoying the blog hop!

    Alsos signed up for email!

  19. Kelly R. says:

    I didn’t move to the U.S. until I was 15…7 countries and 5 languages in my history…I am a follower!

  20. Kelly R. says:

    I also shared on FB!

Leave a Reply

