Interdigitate

My nephew started clasping his fingers at a VERY young age.  And he’d do it all the time.  You’d be walking around with him, and he’d have his fingers clasped and just be wide-eyed taking in the world.  Bless him.  He is just so adorable.  He still does it (he’s a little over a year, now) but, not quite the same.  For one, his dexterity has improved, so he doesn’t “miss” as much.  Totally makes us laugh, though.  I found that I his hand-holding (interdigitating – what can I say?  My family is Geek!) in a load of my photos.

Here’s the LO I did with the best.

And, here are some close-up photos of the hidden journaling and photos inside the envelope.

The envelope stemmed from a challenge that a friend issued, to have “something hidden, either journaling or a photo” on our LO.  Obviously, I went above and beyond.  The LO idea came from a Sketchy Thursday sketch.  Those of you who know me, or know my work, you know that I like making those little envelopes.  They’re actually really easy.  And, recently I’ve started lining them.  They just look so pretty with a lining.

Materials:
CS – Kraft Paper, Reflections, Cord’inations
PP – MM Paper Reverie
Ink – Reflections Black Dye
Tie for envelope – Thread that I knotted
Punch – EK Success
Alpha – Thickers
Brads – Basil
Journaling – Font – CrazyCrazy
Sketch – Sketchy Thursday

As promised, here’s the template for the envelope.  It’s 4×4, finished, which is twice as large as the envelope template I posted the other week.

To print it out, simply click on the image, and print using your browser’s print feature.  Or, you can also save it and print using whatever program you prefer.

Now, to make the closure I used here, I did something really simple.  1st – to make the circles, I took a chapstick and traced the lid.  It’s the perfect size!  Then, I folded up a tiny piece of paper to make the shank.  Next, I used my paper piercer to poke a hole through the center of each of the circles, and through the folded papers.  Finally, I used a tiny brad to attach the circle and shank to the envelope.  The string is thread I knotted.  You could braid or knot or whatever.  You could also use baker’s twine, or other heavier string.

Well, that’s it for me tonight.  Don’t forget – there’s just 1 day left before I draw a winner for the magazine!

 

4 thoughts on “Interdigitate

  1. Kasia says:

    Very lovely page! Love this little envelop and the hidden journaling inside it!
    Thanks for playing along with us at Sketchy Thursdays!

  2. GORGEOUS!! I love love love love those photos and that envelope you made for the journaling! Thanks so much for playing along with Sketchy Thursdays! :):):):):):):):):):):)

Leave a Reply

