Little Blue Dress

So pleased with this LO.  🙂  One of my dear friends in England is a semi-professional photographer.  She’d got a new lens and had asked me to be her subject so she could play with her new toy.  Obviously I said yes!  If you’re interested in seeing more of Rebekah’s work, this is her blog.  If nothing else, they’re beautiful photos to oogle!

Anyway, she must have taken hundreds of photos of me in this dress.  It happens to be my favourite dress, so I have to admit, I’m rather fond of the photos.  I’m actually planning a larger project with the full series (well…. more of the series, anyway!)  But, at the moment, this is all I’ve got accomplished.  One double page LO.  I did it for a sketch challenge on one of the message boards I’m part of.  The sketch was an Ali D sketch:

I loved the sketch as soon as I saw it, which is kind of funny for me.  I’m really not much of a sketch follower.  And yet, this is the 2nd LO from a sketch I’ve done this month!  I know, crazy.  And not only that, I’ve got another LO planned based on the same sketch!  Who knows, maybe I’ll end up as a sketch junkie, too.

Here’s my take on the sketch.

As you can see, I actually followed the sketch quite faithfully.  Oh, the dimensions on the orange block?  They’re 10×10 inches.  I don’t know if that’s to scale with the sketch, but it’s pretty close.  Would have been nice if that information had appeared in the sketch, too.

Here’s my list of materials:
PP – BG Marrakesh (which is seriously one of my favourties, ever!)
CS – Reflections Basic Colours
Glitz – I forget… have had them a long time.
Butterflies – MS Butterfly punch
Loops – MS Loopy border punch
Spritz – Smooch Pearl
Chipboard Letters – BG
Ink – StazOn Azure
Pen – Sakura Glaze White

Jurnaling reads: This is my favourite dress. I feel so pretty when I wear it. The photos are at the Priory in Colchester Essex, England. June 2010.

To make the title, I used BG chipboard letters in white.  I then sprayed them with Smooch Spritz in pearl.  Then, I took the letters for “blue” and I dabbed them in StazOn, Azure.  This did two awesome things:  One, it gave the blue a pearlecent effect, which is pretty cool.  Two, it left a thin outline all the way around each letter in white, making the word pop just a little more.  I was so pleased with that!  🙂  And, of course, the title is my homage to Coco Channel’s “Little Black Dress”.

The butterflies are only tacked down in the middle, leaving their wings free to flutter.  Also, I spritzed the paper they’re punched out of with the pearl Smooch, so they shine just a tad.  And, of course, I added the sparklies to them!  I love sparklies, so the more, the merrier!

Thanks for stopping by!  Hope it’s been inspirational.

7 thoughts on “Little Blue Dress

  1. You did a beautiful job Adele, love every element! I can see why you love that dress so much, it’s so sophisticated and pretty! I’m going to save this sketch, it’s awesome and use it whenever I get my scrapping mojo back!

  2. Dana says:

    I really love this layout of yours – the design is wonderful (I’m a huge AD fan!) and the colours you used are beautiful. The pictures are brilliant and the little butterflies add the perfect delicate touch. Allison does include dimensions for her sketches but they’re never right on the sketch itself. Here’s the link to the page with this sketch: http://www.sketchsupport.com/p/two-page-sketches.html Underneath the sketch, you’ll see the dimensions (in case you want it for future reference).

  3. Both the LO and the dress are awesome!!! You look so fabulous in it!

  4. LauraM says:

    This is such a beautiful layout!!!! It doesn’t hurt that the subject is gorgeous! I love the colors and papers you chose.

  5. This is a wonderful LO Adele! You look fabulous in this dress–you go girl!

  6. Great LO, great photos, and absolutely adorable dress!

Leave a Reply

