Friend Ships!

Ok, I know, I know . . . I keep saying I’m not a card maker.  And then I keep putting up a card!  But, this one was just too cute (and too easy!) not to put in.

I got this adorable card in the post yesterday from a friend (The Crazy English Girl) and I thought she did an ‘Admiral’ job.  (Sorry!!  Couldn’t help myself.)

So, the first thing I did (well, after emailing my thanks to the CEG) was figure out how to make one!  Here you go:

Start with a square piece of paper (I used 6×6):

Fold the paper like you’re going to crease corner to corner, but don’t go all the way.  I’ve creased about 1/3rd of the way to the centre of the paper.  That fold becomes the bow of the ship.

See how in that second photo the edge is starting to try and bend?  You’re now going to make that more obvious.  This is the tricky part, because you’re essentially going to complete that corner to corner fold, but the second 2/3rds of the fold are going to go backwards from what you would do if you wanted to make a triangle.  What you do to get the ship shape (Sorry!  That one was unintentional.  Honest!) is push the unfolded side of the paper back towards the creased side, pinching the folded point as you go.  This is what forms the bulk of the ship.

Now, you’re going to continue that fold where it is.  You won’t have 2 triangles at the end.  You’ll have something that looks identifiable as a ship.

And, in fact, you can leave it as done at this point, and have a sail boat.  However, if you want the smokestack shape, you’ve got one fold left.  Bend the top of the upper triangle down, at the angle of your choice (more fold = sharper angle).

And you’re done!  You can decorate it however you like, and they’re ready to set sail (or get under-way)!  Here’s my current Friend Ship Fleet:

5 thoughts on “Friend Ships!

  1. Helena says:

    This is so cute! And ncie job with the tutorial

  2. reneelamb says:

    ooh, how clever and awesome tutorial! It is so cute! I am going to have to try this…although, I always was bad with paper airplanes! hahahaha – but this is just too cute to not try!

  3. Leah says:

    I will keep this in mind when I get my Cricut for Christmas! wink wink 🙂

    • dleebug says:

      You’re getting a Cricut!!!!! OOOOOH fun… And… I’ve got SO much to tell you! There’s some amazing stuff out there to make your Cricut experience better 😀

  4. Leah says:

    Oops – this comment was meant to be for the cricut post! :O)

Leave a Reply

