CSI -136: Far Away Places

Here’s the Case file for this week!  Don’t forget, you have two weekends to complete each challenge.  They run 9 days!

Case File 136

I immediately loved the image when I saw the file, but I was a little at a loss for how to crack it.  I sometimes feel that all my life is solitary, and other times that I don’t do anything solitary!  But I was flicking through the photos on my computer and I found this image:

Queenstown, NZ

Queenstown, NZ

I was inspired by the fact that the only “person” in my photo is my own shadow.  I do most of my travelling alone.  Travelling, for me, is often a solitary pleasure.  So, that’s where I got my inspiration.  Here’s my LO:

Case File 136 - Solved

Case File 136 – Solved

I did the same gel image transfer here that I did on the my “I’ve Left My Heart In So Many Places” LO.  It’s such an easy way to add a huge impact.

My evidence is:
Butterflies
Fold/Roll something (butterfly wings are folded up)
Wet Medium (geso, paste and paint)

Testimony:
Far Away Places with Strange Sounding Names
I want to see for myself
Those far away places I’ve been reading about
In a book that I took from the shelf.

I know that I’m burning to see
These far away places with strange sounding names
Calling, calling me.

(Song by Joan Whitney and Alex Kramer)

Though I enjoy travelling with others, most of the time, I’m on my own.

 

This song speaks to something in my soul.  It’s mournful, soulful and somewhat lonely.  It’s longing for adventure.  The lyrics echo my desire to see what is going on in other places.  It’s not that I think life is better anywhere else, it’s just that it’s different.  And I want to understand it.  I just love that song.

This is another LO that is practically identical to what I had in my head when I started off.  Apparently I’m better at expressing that image when it has to do with Travel!

2 thoughts on “CSI -136: Far Away Places

  1. Patty says:

    Great job on another gel transfer!

  2. scrapvat says:

    OH I just love that sunray in that pink … that packs a punch. I have been soooooo busy I never had time to do this one :( this is great Adele. Love it.

Leave a Reply

