Inspired By – Backyard Birds

Hello everyone!  Hope your summer is going great (for those in the Northern Hemisphere.  For those of you down south, well… hang in there… summer’s on it’s way!)

 My family is big on birds and feeding birds, so this month’s photo was such a perfect match for us.

July Inspired By Photo

 

Loving the bottle feeder.  It’s gorgeous.

 My brother-in-law loves taking bird/nature photos, and he’s done quite a few out the front window.  It’s been such fun getting to know all the local bird varieties.  We obviously knew some of them, but it’s been fabulous to learn others, like the Grosbeak and Tanager.

Adele’s July Inspired By LO

Who knew there were so many yellow/orange birds in the desert in the United States!  Pretty awesome to watch.  The group splashing and the one vertical photo next to it, they’re the same species: Evening Grosbeak.  The left hand photo is of females, the right, of a male.  My sister’s been attracting such a wide variety of birds since she set up the birdbath.

To make my background, I started with a plain piece of white cardstock.  Then I used a variety of distress stamps and TH Distress Inks.  I used several different washi tapes, ripping them to make them more distress-y.  Finally I drew the splash spots and went over the top with Glossy Accents.  It’s an easy way to add a bit of realism to wet pages.

Don’t forget to upload the photo to your blog, or to our FB page and leave us a link here on the blog.  Be sure to let us know what you were inspired by!  Thanks for playing along!

One thought on “Inspired By – Backyard Birds

  1. scrapvat says:

    Oh I love taking pics of birds too and these ones are just lovely. Love that the layout is clean and allows the photos to really pop. Love it. Sorry I missed you this week… my life is just so chaotic at the moment. I have stepped down from ALL of my DT commitments except CSI and I am taking a break from that till August.. Hopefully I can get back on track. Let me know when you back from Montana so we can chat. Mon and Wed are good days for me cause I have nothing on. :D xx

Leave a Reply

