Child’s Play/Inspired By Crossover!

Happy April, folks!  I’m pleased to be part of this month’s special event, a crossover between Child’s Play Challenges and Inspired By Challenges!  It’s especially exciting to me because I’m on both DTs.

Here’s the inspiration photo:

April Inspiration Photo

And the sketch:

April Sketch

Here’s my LO:

April Child's Play/Inspired By Crossover

April Child’s Play/Inspired By Crossover

I am soooo pleased with this LO.  You know how sometimes they just turn out right?  This was one of those!

You may remember a few weeks ago when I posted my Ice Castle LO, and I talked about using a stencil and embossing ink/powder to create the background?  I used that same technique (even the same stencil!) here.  This time, I deliberately left out bits of the pattern to give it a wind/sand blown look.  The distress stamping was for the same sort of a look.  I used several BoBunny stamps for that.  I chose the colours for the stamped images from the sand in the jars of the inspiration photo.  I also created the file folder and both envelopes.  The file folder I used a TH Die to get the tab shape.  The envelopes I just free handed.  I LOVE the way the envelopes turned out.  They sort of polish off the “travel” look.  The tiny envelope in the top corner especially makes me smile.  The title letters I first coloured with red ink, but they were kind of dull looking, so I added a layer of red stickles and that really brightened them up.  And finally, I created the film strip look of the photos on my computer using some frames by Katie Periete.

Don’t forget to link your LO to both the Child’s Play and Inspired By Blogs!  And let us know what inspired you!  Happy scrapping!

4 thoughts on “Child’s Play/Inspired By Crossover!

  1. scrapvat says:

    This is a stunning layout. I have seen embossed stencil somewhere else but cant remember where. I will have to give it a try because it looks stunning. :D Now i have found the DT that you and Laura are on together… will have to see if I can find it again to play along….

    • dleebug says:

      Thanks, Val! And Laura and I are on ScrapStuff’s Inspired By DT. There’s a link at the top of this post, or along my sidebar.

      On Wednesday, 2 April 2014, Dleebug's Scrapblog wrote:

      >

  2. Carolyn Ewy says:

    Love your interpretation of the photo and the neat embossing! I really like the layering with the shadow photos sticking out…..neat! I played along on this one, not my best, but another two pager finished for Ava!

    • dleebug says:

      Thanks, Carolyn! I’m sure your LO is awesome. I really enjoyed the process on this one.

      On Friday, 11 April 2014, Dleebug's Scrapblog wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

